Polar Bear conservation

December 28th, 2015

The Polar Bear Range States (Canada, Denmark (Greenland) Norway (Svalbard), Russia and the United States) all signed the Agreement on the Conservation of Polar Bears in 1973. In September 2015 a Circumpolar Action Plan regarding a Conservation Strategy for the Polar Bear was published. Besides up to date information about Polar Bears the document contains strategies to address threats to the Polar Bear population.

As a part of the Norwegian efforts in regard to the new conservation strategy AECO has been invited to participate in a Government of Svalbard initiated working-group on Tourism and best practices in regard to Polar Bears.

The 2015 Circumpolar Action Plan can be accessed via AECO’s webpage: https://www.aeco.no/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/2015-11-20-Conservations-Strategy-for-the-Polarbear-2015.pdf

2007-08-26 Polar bear by Christian Kempf (1)