• Frigg Jørgensen, Executive Director
  • Anders la Cour Vahl, Deputy Director
  • André Skrivervik, Director of Administration and Human Resources
  • Melissa Nacke, Head of Operations
  • Troels Jacobsen, Field Operations Manager
  • Aga Nowak, Environmental Specialist
  • Maria Florencia Becherini, Office Manager
  • Anne Øien, Head of Communications
  • Gyða Guðmundsdóttir, Head of Community Engagement

Read more about the secretariat ›

Committees AND working  GROUPS

Executive Committee

  • Karin Strand, Hurtigruten Expeditions (chair)
  • Alana Bradley-Swan, Adventure Canada (vice chair)
  • Maarten van der Duijn Schouten, Cape Race Corporation
  • Jennifer Martin, Seabourn
  • Peter Garapick, Quark Expeditions

Election Committee

  • Tudor Morgan, Hurtigruten (chair)
  • Alana Bradley-Swan, Adventure Canada

Bylaws Committee

  • Bob Simpson, Silversea Cruises (chair)
  • Steve Wellmeier, Poseidon Expeditions (co-chair)
  • Annika Rautiola, Ponant
  • Peter Garapick, Quark Expeditions
  • Jørn Henriksen, Viking Cruises

Membership Committee

  • Sebastian Charge,  Adventure Canada (chair)
  • Tudor Morgan, Hurtigruten Expeditions
  • Tomas Holik, Aurora Expeditions
  • Nikolay Zakharov, Poseidon Expeditions

Guidelines Committee

  • Adam Turner, Oceanwide Expeditions (chair)
  • Kara Weller, Seabourn
  • Henrik Törnberg, Polar Quest
  • Heike Fries, Hapag Lloyd
  • Alastair Newton, Hurtigruten Expeditions
  • Daniil Elterman,  Silversea Cruises
  • Laura Macfarlane, Lindblad Expeditions
  • Bella Bakurova, Poseidon Expeditions

Henry Pall, Quark Expeditions

Marine Committee

  • William Bennett, Quark Expeditions (chair)
  • Thilo Natke, Hapag-Lloyd Cruises
  • Claus Andersen, Hurtigruten Expeditions
  • Leif Skog, Lindblad Expeditions
  • Stanislav Kozhuharov, Silversea Cruises
  • Etienne Garcia, Ponant
  • Nikolay Zakharov, Poseidon Expeditions
  • Patrick Kilbane, Seabourn


Compliance and Dispute Resolution Committee

  • David Ainsworth, Quark Expeditions (chair)
  • Annika Rautiola, Ponant
  • Alistair Newton, Hurtigruten Expeditions
  • Tomas Holik, Aurora Expeditions
  • Bob Simpson, Silverseas
  • Nikolay Zakharov, Poseidon Expeditions
  • Jørn Henriksen, Viking Cruises

Community Engagement Committee

  • Tony Nguyen, Ponant (chair)
  • Arne Kertelhein, Hapag Lloyd
  • Jennifer Martin, Seabourn
  • Laura Macfarlane, Lindblad Expeditions
  • Benjamin Bradley, Quark Expeditions
  • Karin Strand, Hurtigruten Expeditions
  • Justin Poulsen, Silversea Cruises

Yacht Committee

  • Arthur Voirin, Polaris Expeditions (chair)
  • Maarten van der Dujin Schouten, Cape Race Coorporation
  • Christian Engelke, PolarQuest

Communications Working Group

  • Danique van Burken, Oceanwide
  • Nicolas Singh, Quark Expeditions
  • Vladimir Rajevac, Adventure Canada
  • Daria Nilsen, Poseidon

Climate change Working Group

  • Tudor Morgan, Hurtigruten Expeditions
  • Johanna Vakkila, PolarQuest
  • Leif Skog, Lindblad Expeditions
  • Wassim Daoud, Ponant
  • Pamela Le Noury, Noble Caledonia
  • Lyndsey Lewis, Quark Expeditions
  • Richard del Valle, Silverseas

Clean Seas Working Group

  • Delphine Aures, Ponant
  • Lyndsey Lewis, Quark Expeditions
  • Verana Meraldi, Hurtigruten Expeditions
  • Shaun Powell, Seabourn
  • Jiajing Yang, Poseidon
  • Prash Karnik, Lindblad Expeditions
  • Birgit Lutz, Cape Race Coorporation
  • Richard del Valle,  Silverseas


AECO works with many stakeholders and inter alia have a strong cooperation with:

  • IAATO – International Association of Antarctica Tour Operators
  • CLIA – Cruise Liners International
  • Visit Svalbard
  • Visit Greenland
  • Cruise Iceland
  • North Atlantic Agency
  • Governor of Svalbard
  • Government of Nunavut
  • Arctic Council, PAME – Protection of the Arctic Environment working group
  • Arctic Council, EPPR – Emergency Polution Protection Response working group
  • Joint Rescue Coordination Center Northern Norway
  • Norwegian Coast Guard
  • Icelandic Coast Guard
  • Joint Arctic Command
  • Canadian Coast Guard
  • Norwegian Coastal Administration
  • Norwegian Polar Institute
  • Norwegian Nature Research Institute
  • National Canadian Research Institute
  • Norwegian Arctic University
  • Nord University
  • Campus Kujalleq, Greenland
  • Greenland National Museum and Archive


AECO has extensive involvement in relevant research projects and citizen science. Learn more here.

Member login ›
Become a member ›

AECO © All Rights Reserved