EYOS Expeditions wins Puffin Award

October 23rd, 2017
2017 Puffin winner
AECO’s Executive Director Frigg Jørgensen presents Kelvin Murray of EYOS Expeditions with the Puffin statuette.

Every year, AECO presents one of its members with the Puffin award, a travelling trophy which is awarded to a member that has contributed to the association’s work. This year, the award went to EYOS Expeditions.

During the past operational year, AECO’s secretariat has given out 134 Puffins to 28 different members in recognition of their contributions to AECO. Having received a total of 22 puffins, EYOS Expeditions was declared the winner of the 2017 Puffin award during AECO’s Annual dinner on October 18.

Kelvin Murray, Director of Expedition Operations, accepted the award on behalf of EYOS Expeditions.


About the Puffin award

Puffin award statuette

At AECO’s Annual Meeting 2014, the Puffin Award and traveling trophy was established. The trophy consists of a bronze statuette of a puffin, designed by Suzie March. The statue was donated to AECO by Silversea Expeditions. AECO’s Puffin Award was created to encourage members of AECO to contribute to the association and its membership. AECO contributions are awarded with symbolic puffins. At the end of the operational year, the member who has received most puffins receives the award at AECO’s annual dinner in connection with AECO’s annual meeting and cruise conference.